Sonya’s Smoked Salmon Spread

Many years ago, I was sent the wonderful gift of a box full of beautiful smoked salmon from Ugashik, Alaska. My friend, Carol D., had bestowed upon me some gorgeous filets of salmon that she worked very hard to smoke to perfection. They were full smoked filets, not the chunky dry fish like you get in many areas of Alaska. This is a recipe I created to display this smoked salmon on Christmas day. (I can’t find my photo that I have of it, but I will take a picture the next time I make this.)
Sonya’s Smoked Salmon Spread
  • 1 filet of smoked salmon, skinned, de-boned, and shredded (make sure its not a high-carb smoked salmon, I have friends who make it without sugar for me…OPT: can use any canned salmon too)
  • 2 boxes cream cheese, original, softened
  • 1 tub chives cream cheese
  • 1 tub whipped cream cheese (optional, its soft and lite and makes the spread more airy)
  • 5 green onions
  • (if using canned salmon, use 2 tsp. garlic powder and a dash of liquid smoke)

Blend all cream cheese’s well. Add green onions and smoked salmon, blend well. Place in serving dish. Refrigerate for at least 5 hours before serving to let flavors meld. Serve spread crackers; or if going low-carb you can use homemade cheese crackers or vegetables. Another idea for low-carbers is to tuck some spread into boiled egg halves, sort of like salmon deviled eggs.

One thought on “Sonya’s Smoked Salmon Spread”

Leave a Reply

